

Report no

Placing in Schools Appeal Committee – Appointments

Consultative Committee with Parents

Tuesday 24 April 2012

Purpose of Report

- To ask the Consultative Committee to approve the nomination of Jenn Scott, Holy Cross Parent Council and Neil Clarkson, Liberton High School to serve on Panel 2 of the Placing in Schools Appeal Committee.
- To nominate, for consideration by the Council at its meeting on 26 April 2012, a maximum of two additional members to serve on Panel 2 of the Placing in Schools Appeal Committee.

Main Report

The Placing in Schools Appeal Committee is established under Section 28C of the Education (Scotland) Act 1981 to hear appeals from parents against decisions by the Director of Children and Families or the relevant Head Teacher to refuse placing requests for admission to the school of their choice. An appeal can also be made against the exclusion of a child from school or if the child has been re-admitted to school to have the exclusion removed from the school records.

The City of Edinburgh Council's Placing in School Appeal Committee comprises one member from each of the following three groups:

Panel 1 Member of the City of Edinburgh Council or the Education, Children and Families Committee when dealing with Education matters.

Panel 2 Parent of pupil(s) of school age, nominated by the Consultative Committee with Parents

Panel 3 Suitably qualified people with experience in education or acquainted

- The current membership is detailed in the appendix to this report. It should be noted that:
 - (a) members of the Committee on Pupil/Student Support do not participate in the Annual Placing in Schools Appeals process;
 - (b) a Councillor cannot participate in an appeal if the school is within their ward or catchment area; and
 - (c) a parent member cannot participate if their child attends the school for which the appeal is being made.
- The term of appointment of two members of Panel 2 ended in December 2011 and there are also two outstanding vacancies to be filled.
- Vacancies on Panel 2 of the Placing in Schools Appeal Committee (Parents of Children of School Age) are nominated by the Consultative Committee with Parents for consideration by the Council at its next meeting.
- 7 The appointment is for four years, to April 2016, or until the member's youngest child leaves school, whichever is earlier.
- The Protection of Children (Scotland) Act 2003 requires that members of certain committees are subject to a Protecting Vulnerable Groups Scheme check to ensure that they are not disqualified from holding such positions. The persons appointed to the Placing in Schools Appeal Committee will require to agree to this.
 - The heaviest workload of the Appeal Committee is in May to June each year to deal with P1 and S1 appeals. Participation by Panel 2 members will be required, on average, once per week during this period. Other appeals are held throughout the year, requiring members to attend for a morning or afternoon every couple of months.
- Training is provided, and appointment is conditional on attendance. The training will be held on 14 May 2012.

Recommendation

That the Consultative Committee nominate Jenn Scott, Neil Clarkson and a maximum of two additional members to serve on Panel 2 of the Placing in Schools Appeal Committee.

_

Appendices Current Membership of Placing in Schools Appeal

Committee

Contact/tel Jan Macrae, Committee Officer, Tel 0131 529 4106;

e-mail jan.macrae@edinburgh.gov.uk

Wards affected City-wide

Background Papers

Education (Scotland) Act 1981; Executive 15 August 2000

Current Membership of Placing in Schools Appeal Committee

Panel 1

All members of the Council or the Education, Children and Families Committee when dealing with Education matters

Panel 2

Parents of pupils of school age, nominated by the Consultative Committee with Parents –

Donna Anderson Craigroyston High School

Norma Devlin Tollcross Primary School

Dr Julie- Ann Sime Tollcross Primary School

Katherine Taylor Parsons Green Primary School and

Portobello High School

Dr Karen Traill Liberton Primary School

Carol Swan Murrayburn Primary School

Jennifer Walton Murrayburn Primary School

Panel 3

Suitably qualified people with experience in education or acquainted with educational conditions in Edinburgh, nominated by the Director of Children and Families, to act as Chairpersons of the Appeal Committee, currently –

Mrs M Clason, Mrs Brenda Devlin, Mrs Dorothy Dowie, Mrs Pru Irvine, Mrs Kirsty Jack, Mr Iain McGillivray and Mr T McMlllan.

Each Appeal Committee consists of one member from Panel 1, one member from Panel 2 and one member from Panel 3.

The Acting Head of Legal and Administrative Services acts as Clerk to the Appeal Committee, with authority to choose Panel Members for each Appeal Committee.